Opportunity Zones

Opportunity Zones in Cass and Clay Counties

Established by Congress in the 2017 Tax Cuts and Jobs Act, Opportunity Zones encourage long-term, private investments into low income urban and rural communities across the country.

The Fargo, ND-Minn MSA has six designated Opportunity Zones, one on the Minnesota side and five in North Dakota.








To learn more about the overall Opportunity Zone initiative, take a look at the IRS’s website for a set of FAQ’s

Interactive Map of Opportunity Zones

You can take a look at the 8,700 qualifying zones across the nation thanks to an interactive map created by The Economic Innovation Group.

Or check out the specific state Opportunity Zones:

North Dakota tracts

Minnesota tracts

Additional Information:

Kilbourne Group – Great Plains Opportunity Zone Fund

Opportunity Zone 101 Recap

OpportunityZoneFactSheet – ND Commerce – April 2019

opp-zone-EIG_Opportunities & Concerns_

Opportunity Zones Index